Find Us OnFacebookTwitter
Lincoln County North Carolina Est. 1779Click to Home Page

Go To Search
homeprint pageemail page
Emergency Alerts - OFF
Lincoln County Government
115 W. Main St.
Lincolnton, NC 28092
Marriage License
Overview

Appointments are taken Monday – Friday, 8:30 am to 4:00 pm. Please call (704) 736-8530 to make an appointment.

To obtain a marriage license you need the following: 

  • Certified copy of birth certificates (if 21 or younger) 
  • Proof of Social Security Number (ex: Social Security card, Insurance card, Pay stub, Tax return) 
  • Photo ID (ex: Valid Driver’s License, Military ID, Employee ID, etc.) 
  • If you have been married before, you MUST have a copy of divorce papers or death certificate 
  • $60.00 CASH. 
  • Both parties to the marriage must be present. 
  • If you are 16 or 17 years of age, in addition to the above items, you will need the following: The custodial parent or legal guardian must be present and present a photo identification and legal documentation to prove they are the parent or legal guardian. You may be required to produce a certified copy of court orders. 
  • If you are 14 or 15 years of age, in addition to the above items, you are required by law to have a Court Order authorizing the issuance of the marriage license.

Marriage License Application - Print Only
To complete the form you will need the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software version 7.0 or greater to be installed on your computer.

Once all fields are complete, please click "Print Form” button for a printable version of the Marriage License Application Work Sheet. You can complete this form, print it and fax it to the Register of Deeds Office (704-736-8830). Please call the office to confirm we received your fax and to schedule an appointment to sign the license. You are still required to appear in person to sign the license and provided the required information described above. Please bring your copy of the fax with you to our office. You can also keep a copy for your own records.

                                        Marriage License Application Work Sheet

In order to receive your marriage license, both the bride and groom must appear in person at the Lincoln County Register of Deeds office. Once you have completed the required additional information (providing social security cards, IDs and any other required documents) a staff member will administer an oath to the bride and groom prior to obtaining the necessary signatures on the actual license.

Pursuant to North Carolina law, once a marriage license has been issued, it is valid for only sixty (60) days. If the marriage does not occur within sixty (60) days of issuance of the license, a new license application must be submitted and additional fees paid.

Additional Information
Once the license is issued there is no waiting period. The license is valid only in the State of North Carolina. As mentioned before, the license is valid for 60 days from the date it is issued. Blood tests are not required. Appointments are taken Monday – Friday, 8:30 am to 4:00 pm. Please call (704) 736-8530 to make an appointment.

Should you have any questions, please contact the Lincoln County Register of Deeds office at (704) 736-8530.